Sofia Sousa Rocha (1986 - )

     Sofia Sousa Rocha was born in 1986, in Braga. She started studying piano at the age of seven, enrolling four years later at the Conservatório de Música Calouste Gulbenkian in Braga. She studied violin with Manuel António Sá. In 2001 she started her first Composition studies with Paulo Bastos at the Conservatory of Braga, where she also studied Electroacoustic.

          In 2004 she successfully applied to the Escola Superior de Música de Lisboa (ESML) to complete a First Degree in Composition, graduating in 2008. She studied with some of the most well recognized Portuguese composers such as Christopher Bochmann, Luís Tinoco, Carlos Caires and Carlos Marecos, among others. In 2012, Sofia Sousa Rocha concluded her masters thesis in composition at ESML under the guidance of Professor António Pinho Vargas.

          As a student at ESML Sofia Sousa Rocha co-organized various events, including the concerts "Peças Frescas" (Student Composers' Concerts), promoting the youngest Portuguese musicians and composers. She also co-directed the IV and V Music Festivals of the ESML in the S. Luiz Theater.

          Awarded with the first prize at the Composition Prize of ESML/Archaeology National Museum (2008) at orchestra category and she was commissioned by the Young Musicians Prize (2008), promoted by Antena 2 – Portuguese Radio Broadcast, Alcobaça Music Festival (2009) and Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble (2014). Sofia Sousa Rocha has also participated in the II Reading Panel of Orquestra do Algarve (2008), in the 7th Workshop of Gulbenkian’s Foundation Orchestra for Young Portuguese Composers (2009) and in Atelier for Young Composers with Orquestra Clássica do Sul, under direction of Cesário Costa and guidance of António Pinho Vargas (2014). Ricercare Choir and Sinfonietta Orchestra performed her works at the Young Portuguese Composers concerts (2009 and 2010) and she was commissioned by the Portuguese Opera House, Teatro Nacional de São Carlos, to compose Inês morre (2011-12), a chamber opera with libretto by Miguel Jesus, music direction by João Paulo Santos and stage direction by Luís Miguel Cintra.

            She is teaching musical analysis and composition at the Conservatório de Música Calouste Gulbenkian of Braga since 2013.

This composer has 2 works on AvA:


Ref. ava161487

Work Cover

11.00 €

Jogo breve

Ref. ava100426

Work Cover

11.00 €