Luís Carvalho (1974 - )

Ref. ava100546


For Horn Quartet




First movement of HORNPHONY, for horn quartet.
Dedicated to and premiered by «Trompas Lusas»

HORNPHONY was commissioned by Bernardo Silva to be premiered by his quartet Trompas Lusas at the «1st Trompas Lusas Meeting» at Espinho, in October/2010. Departing from a few drafts saved for years, I developed these and added a significant amount of new material (namely all the first movement Intrada).
What I intend in this piece is, beside the purely musical material, to illustrate some of the horn most charismatic features, namely the bouchê, the cuivrêz, the mute or the fanfare/choral sound masses, as well as the bells up and the large musical phrases, to me so intrinsically linked to the horn timbre.
The overall form is a kind of triptych (slow-fast-slow), in which the external movements (Intrada and Epilogue) are essentially meditative and long, while the central Fanfara is very fast and brief, albeit its richness of musical material. This last movement is in itself a king synthesis of the all piece, for its own ternary form ABA' (slow-fast-slow), plus a meditative coda and a surreal "call" of the first horn in half-valves at the end, summarizes the whole idea of the work.
Finally the title, Hornphony, is an agglutination of the English words horn and symphony. The use of the first is obvious, while symphony is here used in its etymological sense, meaning "to play together". Hence Hornphony should be understood as “horns playing together”.

Luís Carvalho


Listen to an excerpt:

1º andamento, Intrada